Welcoming Page Home Page of the CTRC

 


FRANÇAIS

President's Word

Dear all,

May 16, 17 and 18 2002, 300 participants were gathered in Montreal to attend the first International Symposium on the Science of Touch. The organizing committee members were both enthusiast and worried about the event's outcome.

In the end, the participants' testimonials proved to us just how much of a need there was for such an event, for the people of the touch community to get together and share their vision about the science and human constituent of touch. We can therefore say that our initially chosen mission for the symposium was a success.

Since the results were so positive, we organized a second symposium, also in Montreal. More than 600 participants assembled for this second edition under the theme: "Towards an Integrative Medicine". We would like to take this opportunity to thank those who took the time and energy to join us in our attempt to bring the touch community together.

There were many memorable moments. Among them, Dr. Tiffany Field received the Ashley Montegu Award, given to the person who has done the most for the advancement of touch science in the world . In addition, Janet Kahn and David Eisenberg made us dream about a wonderful vision of massage therapy during their panel. They are a great inspiration for massage therapists and a precious guide towards tomorrow's medicine. The conferences and workshops were of exceptional interest and quality and we thank each and every contributor for their wonderful work.

Rolf Elmstrom's activity will remain unforgettable. During the great closing celebration, he led a collective massage session involving more than 400 people! More than ever, we could really feel that touch can make a difference in our society, in our Humanity.

We also take this opportunity to express our gratitude to our financial partners who demonstrated a lot of confidence in our vision. Special thanks to Biotone and Oakworks, our event's major partners. Their generosity truly made a difference in the organization and success of the event.

I wish to thank Dr. Réal Gaboriault for his rich and colorful contribution throughout the first two events on the science of touch. He now yields its position over to me in order to better concentrate on the various business projects that he manages. He has nonetheless accepted to continue to be a part of the organization and scientific committees.

It is with great feelings of achievement and purpose that we anticipate the future. Our next appointment is in 2008. We're evaluating different opportunities with cities in Asia and North Africa. We'll officially announce the host city and symposium's theme in spring 2006. Will you be among us? I certainly hope so!

Sylvain Magnan
ISST 2008 President

May 2004
S
M
T
W
T
F
S
            1
2 3 4 5 6 7 8
9 10 11 12 13 14 15
16 17 18 19 20 21 22
23 24 25 26 27 28 29
30 31

Page d'Acceuil du CIST Page d'Accueil du CCRT

 




ENGLISH

Le Mot du Président

Bonjour à tous,

C’est devant 300 personnes que j’ai eu le privilège de lancer ce premier congrès international qui a eu lieu à Montréal les 16, 17 et 18 mai 2002. Le comité organisateur était à la fois enthousiaste et inquiet de ce que nous réserverait ce congrès.

Finalement, les témoignages des participants qui venaient des 5 continents, nous ont confirmé à quel point ce congrès répondait à un besoin pressant de se regrouper, d'échanger et de partager tant sur les plans scientifique qu'humain. Nous pouvons donc dire que la mission que nous avions donnée au congrès est accomplie.

Fort de ce soutien, nous avons organisé un second congrès, toujours à Montréal. C'est sous le thème " Vers une médecine intégrée " que plus de 600 participants, que nous tenons d'ailleurs à remercier chaleureusement pour leur intérêt et leur contribution à ce que sera la médecine de demain, s'étaient donné rendez-vous.

Comment passer sous silence les interventions des Dr Tiffany Field, qui a reçu le tout premier prix Ashley Montegu remis à la personnalité s'étant le plus illustré dans le monde du toucher, Janet Kahn et David Eisenberg qui, lors des plénières nous ont fait rêver sur une vision merveilleuse de la massothérapie. Vous êtes, n'en doutez pas, une inspiration pour la profession de massothérapeute et le phare qui nous guide vers la médecine de demain. La qualité des conférences et des ateliers pratiques a été exceptionnelle et nous en remercions chaleureusement les artisans.

L'activité de Rolf Elmstrom restera inoubliable. Lors de la grande fête de clôture, il a animé une séance de massage collective à laquelle participaient plus de 400 personnes ! Plus que jamais nous avons tous ressentis que le toucher peut vraiment faire une différence dans notre société, dans notre Humanité...

Nous tenons à remercier nos précieux commanditaires, ceux-là mêmes qui nous ont, une fois de plus, témoigné leur confiance. Un merci spécial à Biotone et Oakworks, les commanditaires majeurs de l'événement. Leur générosité a fait la différence dans l'organisation et le succès de ce congrès.

Je souhaite également remercier le Dr Réal Gaboriault pour sa riche et colorée contribution aux deux premiers congrès sur la science du toucher. Il me cède maintenant sa place pour se consacrer à d'autres projets au sein des entreprises dont il assure la direction. Il a accepté de s'impliquer à nouveau dans les prochains congrès au niveau des comités organisateur et scientifique.

C'est la tête remplie de délicieux souvenirs que nous nous tournons vers l'avenir. Notre prochain rendez-vous sera en 2008. Nous sommes présentement en négociation avec quelques villes d'Afrique du Nord et d'Asie. Nous serons en mesure de vous annoncer officiellement la ville hôte ainsi que le thème du prochain congrès international sur la science du toucher vers le mois de mai 2006. Y serez-vous ? Je le souhaite ardemment !

Sylvain Magnan
Président du CIST 2008

Mai 2004
D
L
M
M
J
V
S
            1
2 3 4 5 6 7 8
9 10 11 12 13 14 15
16 17 18 19 20 21 22
23 24 25 26 27 28 29
30 31